It’s been four long years since the self-titled record from SECRETS, and fans have been bracing for new material. The San Diego post-hardcore/metalcore band is back with their new album The Collapse, and it has the promise to be one of the best metalcore albums of the year.

From the start of the album, SECRETS puts their patented punch into the effort bringing  blistering drums layered with fierce screams from vocalist Wade Walters, complemented with clean vocals from singer and guitarist Richard Rogers.

The Collapse contains everything you want from a metalcore album: breakdowns that are nasty and quick songs, like “Parasite,” that are non-stop action and make you want to mosh in your living room. The message is clear throughout the album, discussing struggles with mental health and substance abuse and the adversity that comes with both, as seen in the title track and “Falling Out.” 

After non-stop action from the five-track run of “Lost,” “Glory,” “Fraud,” “Delinquent” and The Let Down, SECRETS slows the pace a little to close out the album with the track “Fade Away.” Rogers takes the vocal reigns in it, and really shines, bringing the album to a close.

SECRETS have created an intense and electric album, bringing all the ferocity that fans will surely enjoy both listening to and watching live. Check out The Collapse, out via Velocity Records June 10th.

Pre-save the new album from SECRETS, get vinyl + more!

TAGS: SECRETS | Velocity Records

Alex Cavezza

Twitter: @a_ztranger

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s